top of page
Search
  • Demilade Omoniyi

My Best Friend


What a wonderful beginning I had Born with a silver spoon as people say I lived and grew up in the midst of humans I talked and walked with humans Dined and wined with humans Oh, I had a memorable childhood! One fateful day, fate took its turn on me Then all was gone My world was collapsing Even my friends deserted me Thanks to fate notwithstanding, I still had something to salvage I’ m still a living soul At least when there is life, there is hope

But I needed someone who will restore my hope For I can’t revive it alone My courage and zeal was waning Someone close by to help and comfort Alas, I found none! Loneliness made me search far and wide From North to the South, No one to confide in From East to West, no one to share my problems with No friend to call my own Frustration was the order of the day Disappointment was the only song on my lips I began thinking Probably I shouldn’t be born to this world May be I should have come in the previous generation Or any other generation much later Better still into another world May be Mars, or Venus My feet found its way to an undesired ground To a mountain that climaxed with giving up Just then, I sensed something I heard a gentle voice speak Who could be the person? After all no one cares about me No one bothers about what I go through ‘Come on, I’ll be your friend’, the voice whispered ‘I’ll help you carry on’, the voice added ‘Just lean on me; Trust me, Don’t be afraid’, the voice assured Here is He just bringing the news I loved Those words I wished to hear The message of hope I longed to receive Why at this hour? I wondered He again stretched out his arms to embrace me Caressing my cheeks with His fingers Those cheeks on which tears were rolling down With His lips, He blew me a kiss What a warm and tender gesture! In a flash, I turned back from the path The path of hopelessness Into a world of good tidings Each day brought new happiness Great surprises for me each hour I couldn’t have been writing about anybody Couldn’t have been singing praises of no one Than my best friend JESUS, my best friend! You have been my shelter in the rain My food when I was hungry You have been the reason for my existence None as loving as You You really have been the one for me Not even the most caring human No, not one. Silver and gold I have none To pay back for Your love For You have loved me unconditionally Without cause, You took interest in me Thanks for being my friend Thanks for walking into my life When I needed You most You are my heaven sent.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page