top of page
Search
  • Rev. Temiloluwa Aliu

MY UNCLE'S HUSBAND!


"My Uncle's husband"... was supposed to be a grammatical blunder, but not anymore! In dark (not light) of the recent ruling by the U.S Supreme Court, other emerging farcical vocabularies may include these expressions: 'His fiance', 'her fiancee', 'my niece's wife', 'my brother's husband' e.t.c.

Think of a woman who visits you in company of two men and a woman, then she says, "These are my two children, Alex and Jane, and this is Peter, my son in-law". Do you still need to ask which of her children Peter is married to? Maybe yes... What sort of absurdity! I remember a song I learnt as a young boy: "Daddy in the parlor watching film Mummy in the kitchen cooking rice Children in the garden playing ball... A goal!

Then we go like- Change your style... Another style... Another style... Be like that!" It was so much fun! Unfortunately, songs like this may soon be labeled as hate-songs, and coming generations will miss out of that fun. Perhaps, looking at the picture below, maybe 1993 was the year we should have shouted "BE LIKE THAT!" as far as marriage laws are concerned.

Given that marriage has now been redefined as not necessarily a union between two people of opposite sex, how will same-sex couples be called on their wedding day- the two brides? The two grooms? Don't these sound crazy?... Again, when there are two brides, who pays the bride price? #just_thinking# Years ago, I learnt in social studies that a nuclear family consists of a Father, a Mother, and their Children; I guess that also has to change now; maybe they'll just say parents and children. More worrying is how adopted children of homosexual couples will address their parents... Will they be called "Daddy and Daddy" or "Mummy and Mummy". Maybe just Parents. I've filled a lot of forms where they asked for my mother's maiden name... How do we expect adopted kids of gay couples to fair in filling such forms... Oh! That leads to the question, who will drop his/her family name for the other's in a same-sex marriage? As opposed to the conventional "I hereby declare you man and wife" how will the priest declare a same sex union- "I hereby declare you man and husband"? or "I hereby declare you woman and wife"? Seems this is getting more complicated! OK... How will they then be addressed- "Mr & Mr" or "Mrs & Mrs"... What the hell were these people thinking when they passed that law? I'll end with one song I loved to sing while growing up: Who sat and watch my infant head While sleeping on my cradle bed? And tears of sweet affection shed- MY MOTHER! What alternative to the phrase "My Mother" do we have for children of gay couples? Probably, my Nanny! Like a man said sometimes ago in yoruba language, "elese ku iroju!" meaning "Weldone sinner, for your endurance!"... I bet you, sin is not that easy; it comes with a lot of complications. Indeed, righteousness keepeth him that is upright in the way: but wickedness overthroweth the sinner. (Proverbs 13:6). Should the phrase "MY UNCLE'S HUSBAND" be accepted as grammatically correct? Share this if your answer is NO

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page