top of page
Search
  • Evang. Gideon Davice

Praying The Terms of Your Covenant With God (Part 1)


“But in fact the ministry JESUS has received is as superior to theirs as the covenant of which HE is mediator is superior to the old one, since the new covenant is established on better promises.”

Hebrews 8:6

“The blood of JESUS speaks better things than the blood of Abel”- Hebrews 12:24

The bible says in that book of exodus 2: GOD heard their groaning and HE remembered HIS covenant with Abraham. So GOD looked on the Israelites and was concerned for them. The reason why GOD was concerned for the children of Israel was because HE remembered HIS covenant with their fathers. The reason why HE moved was because HE had a bond. It was a term in the covenant HE made with their fathers.

Below is a discourse Moses had with GOD:

Exo. 32: 9-14

9 Then the Lord said, "I have seen how stubborn and rebellious these people are. 10 Now leave me alone so my fierce anger can blaze against them, and I will destroy them. Then I will make you, Moses, into a great nation."

11 But Moses tried to pacify the Lord his God. "O Lord!" he said. "Why are you so angry with your own people whom you brought from the land of Egypt with such great power and such a strong hand? 12 Why let the Egyptians say, 'Their God rescued them with the evil intention of slaughtering them in the mountains and wiping them from the face of the earth'? Turn away from your fierce anger. Change your mind about this terrible disaster you have threatened against your people! 13 Remember your servants Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. YOU bound yourself with an oath to them, saying, 'I will make your descendants as numerous as the stars of heaven. And I will give them all of this land that I have promised to your descendants, and they will possess it forever.'"

14 So the Lord changed his mind about the terrible disaster he had threatened to bring on his people. (NLT)

GOD would have destroyed the children but HE remembered HIS covenant with the fathers. So, GOD changed HIS mind because of HIS covenant. This is to show how important a covenant with GOD is and also to see how dangerous it is when there’s no one to remind GOD of HIS covenant with them. This shows how easy it is to forfeit the terms of a covenant should there be no reading of it. Should there be no one that knows GOD ought to deliver us from what we’re passing through.

The argument that won this wrestle was “Remember your servants Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. YOU bound yourself with an oath to them” is it possible that our lives would be better if we knew the terms of GOD’S covenant with us and read thereby from it? Is it possible that we bring GOD to HIS word and receive the blessings that we’re due?

I received a call one day, the sister speaking said she’s feeling very sick, but that was the period of her exams. Immediately the call ended, I went on my knees to do nothing but quote the terms of the covenant GOD has with us as HIS children through the blood of JESUS. I read HIS word to HIM. My prayer for hours on that issue was based on what GOD said in HIS covenant with us on that issue. HE said ‘by the stripes of JESUS, we are healed’ that’s enough to hold GOD! That’s enough! She called back after one hour and told me she was now feeling better without using drugs. I didn’t tell her I was praying, so she couldn’t have called to encourage me. It’s a miracle obtained fully by mercy and grace but speaking of covenant, it is expected.

It’s not right for us to live below the blessings of our covenant with GOD. Many don’t even know they have a covenant with GOD. Many know but they don’t know its content. I trust the HOLYSPIRIT to inspire you and open your eyes to behold the marvelous truth in this far beyond how I can say it. They could have kept groaning and GOD wouldn’t be wrong for not attending to them if HE wasn’t obliged to do so. There have been slaves from other races in Egypt but the Gods they had covenants with could give them rain but couldn’t bring them out of Egypt. Their Gods couldn’t deliver them from the hand of pharaoh, but the GOD of the Israelites could and HE did.

David said in psalms 33:12 “Blessed is the nation whose GOD is the LORD” (NIV)

Do you ever wonder why anyone who fought David, no matter how good they were always lost? I mean no matter how good they are. The reason is because GOD already made a covenant of victory with David and so, fighting David would mean fighting GOD. GOD can’t lose so David can’t lose. When GOD remembered HIS covenant with the children of Israel, HE began to make a way, HE began to make arrangements, and HE began to call things that were not as though they were to deliver them from the hand of Pharaoh.

I once prayed when I needed help and was weak and the verse I held on to was Hebrews 8:10: “This is the covenant I will establish with the people of Israel… I will be their GOD and they will be MY people” and then I said “LORD you’ve promised to be my GOD, fulfill your word today and now. I need you to be my GOD at this moment”, where the strength came from, I still can’t explain. David said in psalm 33:12 that those whose GOD is the LORD are blessed, so I should be blessed. I can either be blessed or blessed! Anything apart from that, we need to go to GOD in prayer asking HIM to honour HIS word. And we are not to be afraid, we are to go with freedom and confidence because of CHRIST and our faith in CHRIST (Eph 3:12). But also with the humility that comes from thanksgiving for the sacrifice that has made this possible.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page