top of page
Search
  • Invasion Channel

Testimony- Winna Ogbe


As a young girl, I had my own share of dreams and ambitions, just like every other kid; as I grew older, I knew exactly what I wanted in life... I wanted to be a Medical Doctor, and I somehow figured out how to achieve my dreams. I knew there may be some obstacles that I may encounter along the way, but I never bargained for the road God took me through. THE FIRST BLOW I graduated from high school in 2011, and had quite impressive grades. However, in Nigeria, one needs to write (and of course pass) JAMB (Joint Admission & Matriculation Board) exams before one can be offered admission into any higher institution. I wrote the exam and passed with a good score to the glory of God... Then came the next huddle: The Post-JAMB exam of my school of choice- O.A.U (Obafemi Awolowo University), Ile-Ife. Unfortunately, I couldn’t make the cut-off, so that year passed me by. I was sad, but I prayed and believed God, saying probably it’s the Lord's will. THE SECOND BLOW The following year, 2012, I did the whole JAMB routine again, but this time I enrolled for a pre-degree programme at the same O.A.U, Ile-Ife, which usually would make admission into the institution easier. However, the programme didn’t favour me, and I wasn't offered admission; that year passed also. This time I was more sad and devastated than the first time- this was partly due to the fact that some of my friends made it and many of my high school colleagues, perhaps those I even felt I was more brilliant than had gained admission; some were even moving to their 2nd year (200 Level) already. These notwithstanding, I kept the faith, I kept remembering the words of my Pastor in RCCG (Redeemed Christian Church of God) Moro, Ile-Ife. The Pastor's words of encouragement strengthened my heart through that trying period, I held God close... The incident really drew me close to God. AN ENTICING OFFER After the second failed attempt to secure admission, I was offered an opportunity to 'sort'- giving money to solicit for assistance in securing admission through illegal means... this is quite common in Nigeria. When the offer came, I told God I didn’t want to pay or give bribes to gain admission. Most times, the victim (or client, as they would call it) will have to continue paying to maintain the admission, while also living in constant fear that the admission may be nullified at any time by the University authorities if found out. AN OPEN DOOR In 2013, two years after finishing high school, and months after the failed pre-degree attempt, my Dad processed and secured admission for me to study Nursing at a University in Ghana. This time, I didn't have to write JAMB... I was so happy! God has finally heard my cry, I concluded. I prepared myself, packed my stuffs and set off to Ghana for a Nursing degree. Though Nursing was not my dream course, I was so happy that at last, I had gained admission into the University. THE THIRD BLOW Having spent six months in the school, we learnt that the school had accreditation issues. This spelt doom for the students, more imminently for foreign students; our certificates would be FAKE AND USELESS!!!... This was so devastating; I felt this should not be happening to me, not after everything I've been through already. I informed my parents about it, but I stayed back a bit, hoping for things to get better. Unfortunately, things remained the same and it seemed the school authorities were making no efforts at all to sort things out, so I (and others affected) eventually had to leave the school, and here I was, back to square one, where I started. COPING WITH THE SHAME It was not easy staying at home with all the side talks; sitting there idle, knowing that my mates were making significant progress in life while 'nothing meaningful' was going on in my own life. I became overwhelmed emotionally with all the thoughts and worries... I began to loose weight. I fasted and prayed, I even queried God, yet, nothing positive seemed to be on the horizon. My younger brother gained admission into the University that year; and it was like a shame to me... A thing of joy made me sad!!! I was happy for him, but I felt bad for myself. At that point, I knew I had no one else to go to but God, so I continued fervently in prayers. ANOTHER OPEN DOOR As God would have it the next year, I gained admission to study Medicine (my dream course) in The Philippines; I was glad, but I had a lot of fears. I got my visa, made all necessary arrangements, and flew to Philippines. Honestly, for some months of being in the country I was very scared. I told God I didn’t want to go home empty handed; I said to him, "This time, I must go home with my certificates". GOD'S WISDOM REVEALED In Philippines, Medicine is a postgraduate degree, which runs for four years, so I had to first enroll for a Bachelor's (BS) degree in Biological Sciences... This was where God's wisdom was revealed- the BS degree which should normally take 4 years would only take me 2 years to complete due to their high school system in The Philippines: at that time, they had only 4 years of high school education, whereas we have 6 years of high school education in Nigeria, so I was enrolled in their 3rd year as a transferring student. I resumed in the school, did my obligations as a student, and was making good grades. THE FINAL BATTLE In 2015, I was already in my last semester of the first degree. I was so happy and full of hopes, then came this lecturer who constantly threatened to give everyone a failing grade. He kept true to his threat- gave very difficult exams and failed virtually everybody in the Mid-Semester exams. I became extremely afraid! I put this lecturer into prayers, I kept confessing God's words that affliction shall not rise again and I ceaselessly proclaimed God's promises concerning me according to His words. VICTORY AT LAST! The final exams came, I put in my very best and wrote the exams... Lo and behold, I passed all my subjects with good grades! To the glory of God, today, I am a graduate of BS. Biological Sciences. The year I graduated was the same year many of my high school mates graduated also- God restored the years I sowed in tears. I then realized that God was teaching me, training me, bringing me closer to Him and processing me because of His great plans for me. God is so good! I’m enrolled in Medical School already and I believe God will complete what He has started. HALLELUYAH!!! CONCLUSION Regardless of the challenges of life and the wiles of the enemy, God reigns supreme over all and victory is sure if only we will trust in Him. God did mine and He can do yours also!

Have you surrendered your life to Jesus? Are you assured of eternal life? If not, you can do so here

Do you also wish to share your testimony with us? Click here

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page