top of page
Search
  • Rev. Temilolu Aliu

Daily Topic || Discovering & Fulfilling Purpose


Text- John 18:37 - "...Jesus answered... To this end was I born, and for this cause came

I into the world”.

For the past few days, we have been discussing on the subject of divine purpose. One

pertinent question that must be answered before we draw the curtain on this subject is:

How can you discover and fulfil your divine purpose? I have highlighted below, some

few keys to discover and fulfill your divine purpose:

1. Intimacy with God.

I particularly like how The Message Bible renders 1 Corinthians 2:9-11 “That’s why we have this Scripture text: No one’s ever seen or heard anything like this, Never so much as imagined anything quite like it – What God has arranged for those who love him. But you’ve seen and heard it because God by his Spirit has brought it all out into the open before you. The Spirit, not content to flit around on the surface, dives into the depths of God, and brings out what God planned all along. Does anyone know what you’re thinking and planning except you yourself? The same with God – except that he not only knows what he’s thinking, but he lets us in on it by His Spirit.

It is made clear in the above scripture that only the Holy Spirit can let you in on what God has planned for you, and prepared you for before time began. As such, to discover your purpose in God, and in the daily execution of the things of destiny, you must live in constant touch with the Holy Spirit: Be born again, Be baptized in the Holy Ghost, pray in the Holy Ghost regularly, do your Quiet Time daily, study the Scriptures daily, wait upon God regularly and spend quality time to worship God. In short, stay tuned to the Spirit!

2. Discipleship, Mentorship & Fathering

Philippians 3:12 - "Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I FOLLOW AFTER, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus."

See the emphasis on 'I FOLLOW AFTER'... There is a following process (Fathering, Mentorship, and Discipleship) that you must give yourself to in order to become all that God has ordained you to be. In 2 Timothy 1: 6, Paul, the Apostle admonished his dearly beloved son, Timothy to “stir up the gift of God, which is in thee by the putting on of my hands." You see, there are divine deposits of God required for your divine purpose, which can only be received through the ministry of a Father, Mentor and Discipler.

3. Die to self

Galatians 2:20 "I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me."

Romans 12:1-2 "I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God."

From the scriptures above, we see that in order to step into the center of God's plan for your life, you must sacrifice your personal ambitions, your fantasies, fleshly desires, lust, pride, convenience etc. on the altar of divine purpose. Seek to find out what God will have you do, and give yourself fully to it.

PRAYERS:

1. O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsts for you. Help me not to get entangled in the affairs of this life at the expense of my walk with you.

2. Lord, help me to locate and recognize my Paul (Father, Mentor and Discipler), and to be submissive to divine process under his watch as I walk this road of divine purpose.

3. Lord, help me to die to self, to my pride, my fantasies and fleshy desires that I may live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

Image Credit: amazon.com

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page