top of page
Search
  • Rev. Temiloluwa Aliu

Daily Tonic || Balancing Charisma With Character


Text- Acts 11:24- "He was a good man, full of the Holy Spirit and faith, and a great number of people were brought to the Lord."

In today’s text, we see how the Bible describes Barnabas –

  • He was a good man (Character)

  • He was full of the Holy Spirit and faith (Charisma)

The resultant effect of Barnabas’ combination of character with charisma was that a great number of people were brought to the Lord. In contrast to this, let’s see what Paul says in 1 Corinthians 13: 1-3:

“If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.”

Paul uses very strong words to describe a man that has a Charisma, but lacks character, according to Paul:

  • Such a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal (In contemporary terms, an empty barrel)

  • Such a man is nothing

  • Such a man gains nothing

I don’t want you to confuse reputation with character. Your reputation is what people know you to be, whereas your character is who you really are.

Ensure that you live a life of character that matches up with your charisma, because ultimately, even if men rate you by your charisma; your gifts, anointing's, graces etc. God is not deceived; he’s concerned with your character – the real you.

It is Character that sustains anointing. A man that has a lot of charisma but is deficient in character has signed up for self-destruction.

My charge to you today is to strive to be known for your character and integrity, not for your charisma. Don’t push your gifts forward ahead of your character development. The first thing that was said about Barnabas was that he was a good man (Character) before anything was said about his charisma.

In your daily interaction with people, be known for right standing and what is right at all times. Pay close attention to your character, be more interested in developing your character ahead of your gift; It will preserve the grace and anointing of God upon you and it will preserve your calling.

PRAYERS

1. Father, grant me the wisdom to effectively balance Charisma with Character as I go about my daily living.

2. Lord, make me a man of integrity. I don’t want to be an empty barrel; I want to live a life that counts before you.

3. As I set out to build my character, grant me grace to do so in Jesus Name.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page