top of page
Search
  • Rev. Temilolu Aliu

Daily Tonic || The Storms Of Life (3)


Text- Psalm 93:4 – “The LORD rules supreme in heaven, greater than the roar of the ocean, more powerful than the waves of the sea.”

We have established that the Earth is a raging sea, full of violent storms, where great and boisterous winds are blowing; we said that even as believers, we face some contrary winds in form of trials, temptations, persecutions and the likes

. I told us that as you move higher in life, you will find out that the sea keeps getting rougher, and men are all the more being distressed by the waves. It is my desire and prayer that you and I will be one of those who will always come out victorious regardless of what storms arise in life.

We have considered the examples of Jonah and Peter in the previous days. Today we will take a look at the account of Mark (Mark 6:47-48):

“Now when evening came, the boat was in the middle of the sea; and He (Jesus) was alone on the land. Then He saw them (the disciples) straining at rowing, for the wind was against them.”

Here, Mark recorded an encounter of the disciples with the storms; he said “they were struggling at rowing, for the wind was contrary and against them. Beloved, when the wind is contrary, it is not time to struggle. When you face trials, rather than struggle, why not just allow God to move on your behalf!

1 Samuel 2:9 says, “For by strength shall no man prevail”. In other words, we cannot win a victory by our own strength. The Message Bible says, “No one makes it in this life by sheer muscle!”

Beloved, I want you to trust God from the bottom of your heart; don’t go through life trying to figure out everything on your own. Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, and everywhere you go; He’s the one who will keep you on track, and keep you untouched.

Bible says that in Psalm 33:16-17, “No king is saved by the multitude of an army; A mighty man is not delivered by great strength. A horse is a vain hope for safety; Neither shall it deliver any by its great strength.” So when storms arise in life, never assume that you know it all or that you have what it takes to combat it on your own. Run to God!

GOD’s Message:

“Don’t let the wise brag of their wisdom.

Don’t let heroes brag of their exploits.

Don’t let the rich brag of their riches.

If you brag, brag of this and this only:

That you understand and know me.

I’m GOD, and I act in loyal love.

I do what’s right and set things right and fair.

– (Jeremiah 9:23-24 MSG)

PRAYERS

1. I will not be overwhelmed by the storms of life. I will always come out victorious in Jesus Name.

2. Lord, I confess my absolute trust in You from the bottom of your heart. I choose rely on you totally all the days of my life.

3. Lord, help me never to build confidence in my personal prowess, or in any physical factor. Help me to always lift my eyes to you, from whom comes my help.

Image Credit: godsloveinpoetry.com

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page