top of page
Search
  • Rev. Temilolu Aliu

Daily Tonic || SIN: What We Should Know (2)


Text – 1 John 3:9 – “Those who have been born into God's family do not make a practice of sinning, because God's life is in them. So they can't keep on sinning, because they are children of God.”

Yesterday, I talked about what a believer should do if he makes a mistake by yielding to the flesh. I talked about the benefit of genuine repentance; and dependence on God’s enabling grace and His enabling presence in overcoming sin. Today, I will talk on the subject of struggling with sinful habits.

If you are genuinely saved Christian who really desires to live a holy life, but you are still struggling with sinful habits and are thus confused about the subject of Grace- Here's a word for you: Don't beat yourself up, but let Jesus help you. Here are some things I recommend for you to do:

1. BE REAL WITH GOD

Don’t play hide and seek about your struggles. God knows all about it already, so be very open with him in the place of prayer, tell Him: "Lord, I’m trying but this is quite tough for me; my flesh is bigger, my soul is hurting and I can’t resist but I trust in your Grace to help me overcome". It’s also very helpful to confide in a mature Christian that you can trust to help you through the process.

2. DON’T BECOME FRUSTRATED OR GROW COMPLACENT

If you happen to make mistakes, pick yourself up again, don't give up on yourself; don’t let setbacks cause you to walk away from Grace or to turn against Truth.

3. DO SOMETHING EVERY DAY TO GET STRONGER

Make sure you take practical steps every day, (no matter how little) to get stronger and go in the right direction. Make decisions that will protect; take for example if you have an issue with stealing, don’t as much as play with other people’s things without asking their permission; you may end up taking it home!

4. KEEP COOPERATING WITH GOD

Understand that for some people, it takes longer to overcome certain things than for others, but so long as you are trying, so long as you are reaching, so long as you keep cooperating with God to help you grow, you'll eventually come through!

5. DON’T BE MEAN TO YOURSELF

God loves you, so don’t take out the frustration on yourself, or feel disappointed in yourself. Don’t be yoked with shame and guilt; just keep growing - even if it’s a little step, do it every day - and you’ll eventually come through.

PRAYERS

1. Talk to God about your struggles, and ask Him for grace to overcome.

2. Holy Spirit, you are my guide. Please teach me wisdom steps to take every day in order to get stronger and go in the right direction.

3. Lord, help me to always bask in your unfailing love, and help me never to become frustrated or complacent.#

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page