top of page
Search
  • Rev. Temilolu Aliu

Daily Tonic || The Point Of No Return


Text- Daniel 3:17-18 – "If it be so, our God whom we serve is able to deliver us from the burning fiery furnace, and he will deliver us out of thine hand, O king. But if not, be it known unto thee, O king, that we will not serve thy gods, nor worship the golden image which thou hast set up.”

Let me start off today by saying that if there is nothing worth dying for, you have not found the reason to keep living. In other words, you must have certain unshakable commitments that make life worth living. For me, that commitment is to Christ.

You see, every child of God must walk their road with God until they reach the point of no return; you must follow Christ to the point where you cross the Rubicon; to that point where turning back is no longer an option; that point where there is no risk too big to take for Him.

In our text today, we see the story of the three Hebrew boys, Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego. They refused to obey king Nebuchadnezzar’s decree, choosing rather to die in the fiery furnace than to compromise on their commitment and bow to the golden image. Evidently, these guys had reached the point of no return!

John 6:66-68 records an incidence in the earthly ministry of Jesus:

“From that time many of His disciples went back and walked with Him no more. Then Jesus said to the twelve, “Do you also want to go away?” But Simon Peter answered Him, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. Also we have come to believe and know that You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.”

Did you see Peter’s response there? When everyone else left, those that remained were those who had reached the point of no return; those who had concluded that there is no other one to turn to.

Beloved, are you willing and ready to go all the way for God? Have you crossed the Rubicon? Have you reached the point of no return? Have you got to that point where that famous hymn is your absolute reality? –

I have decided to follow Jesus I have decided to follow Jesus I have decided to follow Jesus No turning back, No turning back!

When the going gets tough, will you stay true to the cross of Christ and to the cause of his gospel? When life hits you with trial, will you deny Christ? When the world entices you with juicy offers, will you turn your back on Christ? Is there anything strong enough to pull you back? When God seems to be silent, will your faith fail?

Let’s see the account in Luke 9:61-62:

“Still another said, “I will follow you, Lord; but first let me go back and say goodbye to my family.” Jesus replied, “No one who puts a hand to the plow and looks back is fit for service in the kingdom of God.”

Have you reached the point of no return? Are you fit for service in the kingdom of God?

PRAYERS

1. Lord, I declare that you are my absolute commitment in life. Whatever you say, I will do. Wherever you send, I will go.

2. Lord Jesus, take me past the point of no return in my walk with you.

3. Lord, I ask that you strengthen me; that in the day of trial, my strength will not fail.

Image credit:jeffdavis.blog

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page