top of page
Search
  • Rev. Temilolu Aliu

Daily Tonic || Abide in Christ (2)


Yesterday, I explained that one implication of the charge given by Christ, “Abide in me” is that we must remain connected with Him. Here is another implication of the charge:

2. We must wholly depend on Christ

Think of it this way, if we are to abide in Christ and never leave, then it means whatever is available in Christ are the only things we have access to. So then, we are to wholly depend on Him.

One thing we must be quick to realize is that the vine is not in any way dependent on the branches; it is the branches that are dependent on the vine – it derives all its nourishments and the very live that it has from the vine.

In plain terms, without the vine, the branch is as good as dead – useless and powerless! Jesus puts it this way in John 15:5, “I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.”

Jesus said it unequivocally, “Apart from me, you can do nothing” There was no mincing of words.

I know that in the world where we live, maturity is measured by the level of your independence. But contrariwise, as per our spiritual lives, maturity is measured by our level of dependence – as we grow more and more in our dependence on God, and become less dependent on the flesh.

Deep humble dependence on God is what it means to abide in Christ. Paul said in 1 Corinthians 15:10, “By the grace of God I am what I am . . . and I labored more abundantly than they all: yet not I, but the grace of God that was with me”

Here, Paul confirms that he actually did put in a lot of personal efforts, but he made it clear that the grace of God, and nit his labor, made him what he had become. He worked hard, but he depended on God, not on his personal efforts.

Beloved, don’t depend on your IQ however high it is; don’t rely on you connections however tight they are; don’t trust in your efforts however much they are; don’t bank on your bank account however fat it is’ don’t count on your certificates however good they are; DEPEND ON CHRIST!

Beloved, abide in Christ – apart from Him, you can do nothing!

PRAYER

Lord Jesus, I chose to abide in you. I know that apart from you, I can do nothing, help me to grow more and more in my dependence on You, and become less dependent on the flesh in Jesus Name.

Image Credit: mmanuelbiblechurchsaginaw.org

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page