top of page
Search
  • Rev. Temilolu Aliu

Daily Tonic || Intimacy With God (2)


Text – Ephesians 2:13 – “But now in Christ Jesus ye who sometimes were far off are made nigh by the blood of Christ”

Continuing from where we stopped yesterday, I mentioned to you that that intimacy has two major components – Close personal relationship and detailed knowledge, and that Close Personal Relationship is a result of time spent together, constant heart-to-heart communication, openness and shared interest.

We have discussed on spending time together with God. Today, we will talk about how to have heart-to-heart communication with God.

Communication is of two types:

  • Monologue – One-way communication. When only one person is speaking during a conversation.

  • Dialogue – This refers to two-way communication, when both parties in a conversation are engaged in the communication.

Dialogue is a very important aspect every healthy relationship, including our relationship with God. There are three (3) basic components of communication (Dialogue) with God.

I. TELLING

God already knows everything you’re experiencing, but He wants you to trust Him with your heart. Be honest about what you’re going through, thinking, and feeling. Talk about what excites you and what disappoints you, what makes you happy or sad. Tell Him you love Him, you’re thankful for Him, and you praise Him for who He is and what He does.

II. ASKING

God wants us to ask Him for what we need, because it builds our trust in Him. No matter how big or small the need is, it matters to Him! We can ask for help, strength, provision, and guidance. He tells us, “Call on me and I SATURDAY TOPIC: DECEMBER 29 INTIMACY WITH GOD (2) will answer you. I’ll tell you marvelous and wondrous things that you could never figure out on your own.” (Jeremiah 33:3)

III. LISTENING

Like we have established earlier, communication should be a two-way thing; we aren’t meant to do all the talking. God wants to communicate with us too!

In John 10:27 Jesus says, “My sheep listen to my voice; I know them and they follow me.” Here Jesus identifies Himself as a shepherd, and we are His sheep. Our growing relationship with Him helps listen for and identify His voice. You may experience it as a prompting in your heart as you spend time with Him, or it can be through scripture, when a passage seems to come alive to you as you read it.

PRAYERS

1. Lord, as I pursue intimacy with you, please help me to trust You with all my heart, and to be honest with You about what I’m going through, thinking, and feeling per time.

2. Lord, as I pursue intimacy with you, please help me to trust you with all my needs, and to call on you in Faith at all times.

3. Lord, as I pursue intimacy with you, please help me to be a true sheep that will always listen for and correctly identify Your voice.

Image Credit: gracechico.org

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page