top of page
Search
  • Rev. Temilolu Aliu

Daily Tonic || God Said “NEVER”! (2)


Text- Hebrews 13:5- “Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee nor forsake thee”

Yesterday, I mentioned that the word ‘never’ is a strong word with very serious implications. Whenever it is used, it conveys a sense of resolute determination and commitment on a matter that is not subject to review or change.

As such, whenever God uses the word “never”, we ought to give thorough consideration to the matter under discourse, and pay close attention to its implications.

In our text today, we see another place where God said ‘Never’ He said,

“I will never leave thee nor forsake thee” I checked for the dictionary meaning of ‘Never’, and this was what I found:

“At no time in the past or future; on no occasion; not ever”

So then, when God says, “I will never leave you nor forsake you”, what he’s saying is that at no time whatsoever; and on no occasion whatsoever will he ever leave you or forget you.

God has resolved within himself to never abandon you, or leave you to handle life all by yourself. His presence with you is ever abiding; His participation in your life is ever sure. Isn’t this amazing?

See what God said to the Israelites in Deuteronomy 31:6

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you”

Beloved, you are not alone in life; God is solidly by your side, so do not be afraid. Be strong and courageous! God is your very present help.

I like how the writer of Hebrews completed his thought-line in Hebrews 13.

After he had said “God will never leave you nor forsake you” in verse 5, he went on to say in verse 6,

“So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.”

Jesus said in Matthew 28:20,

“… Lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age”

Dearly beloved, I want you to know today that God is always with you; He will always help you; He will always love you; He will stick with you through thick and thin. He will never leave you nor forsake you. Shalom!

PRAYER

Lord, I declare my unwavering confidence in you. I know that your love, help, presence and participation in my life are ever sure. So, I receive strength and courage from this assurance as I daily live in Jesus Name.

Image Credit: wrir.org

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page