top of page
Search
  • Rev. Temilolu Aliu

Daily Tonic || The Lord is my Shepherd


Text- Psalm 23:1 - “The Lord is my shepherd…”

Psalm 23 is arguably the most commonly used and best-loved chapter of the Bible in the world. Interestingly, it’s a scripture of all seasons. People recite it at weddings with a great sense of exhilaration, delight, and eagerness. People also recite it at funerals as a source of comfort in the midst of deep and terrible grief.

However, the root of everything stated in Psalm 23 is encapsulated the first five words “The Lord is my shepherd”. Once we understand that the Lord is our shepherd and we follow Him as sheep, we can rightly rejoice in good times, and find comfort and hope in times of grief.

Quite interestingly, we usually miss the fact that “The Lord is my shepherd” is an acknowledgement and celebration of dependence. Whenever we say, “The Lord is my shepherd”, we are making an unusual statement of dependence.

Every country in the world values independence. With only very few exceptions like Britain and Scotland, all countries in the world have an “Independence Day Celebration”. But then, Psalm 23 is a ‘dependent life celebration’… a life of total dependence on God for provision, protection, preservation and peace.

Generally speaking, people see independence as one of the major signs of maturity. But in Christianity, one major sign of maturity is increased dependence on God, who is our Shepherd.

David, who wrote the words, “The Lord is my shepherd”, was once a shepherd himself. He understood well enough that a sheep is highly dependent upon the shepherd. In fact, sheep can be counted among the most dependent animals in the world… they rely on their shepherd for food, direction, protection, treatment of disease, and just about everything!

When we say “The Lord is my shepherd”, what we are basically trying to say is that God is absolutely trustworthy, and we can depend on him. We can rely on His wisdom; on His knowledge; on His power.

In John 10:11-14, Jesus spoke thus:

“I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd gives His life for the sheep. But a hireling - he who is not the shepherd; one who does not own the sheep- sees the wolf coming and leaves the sheep and flees; and the wolf catches the sheep and scatters them. The hireling flees because he is a hireling and does not care about the sheep. I am the good shepherd; and I know My sheep, and am known by My own.”

Jesus Christ, the good shepherd has never been known to harm any of his sheep. This great Lord and good shepherd is so devoted and dedicated that he is even willing to put his life on the line for a single lamb. Beloved, the identity of Jesus Christ as our shepherd is very intriguing. It is so wonderful to be able to say, "The Lord is my shepherd."

PRAYER

The Lord is my shepherd. Therefore Lord Jesus, Chart the course of my life by your wisdom, knowledge and power. I totally depend on you; I lean not on my understanding.

Image Credit: slideshare.net

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page