top of page
Search
  • Rev. Temilolu Aliu

Daily Tonic || When God Seems to be Silent


Text- John 11:21-22- “Martha said to Jesus, “Lord, if you had been here, my brother would not have died. But I know that even now God will give you whatever you ask.”

When we read John 11: 1- 22; where the Bible narrates how Jesus raised Lazarus from the dead, we see how interesting the progression of events was.

When they told Jesus that Lazarus was sick, He said, "This sickness is not unto death, but for the glory of God, that the Son of God may be glorified through it." (John 11: 1-4)

Then, it happened! Lazarus died, and Jesus was silent; Lazarus was buried, Jesus seemed not to give a bulge- first day, second day, third day! He refused to respond, even when it seemed His words had ‘failed’. How come Lazarus died, when Jesus had said he would not?

Then, four days after Lazarus was buried, Jesus said to the disciples, "Our friend Lazarus sleeps, but I go that I may wake him up" (John 11:11).

The disciples clearly did not to understand what he meant, so He said in plain terms, "Lazarus is dead. And I am glad for your sakes that I was not there, so that you may believe. Nevertheless let us go to him. (John 11:14-15)

When Jesus got there, Martha, Lazarus' sister confronted Him with the seeming truth, she said "Lord, if You had been here, my brother would not have died. Nevertheless (but even now), I know that whatever You ask of God, God will give You." (John 11:21-22)

Although Martha plainly stated her disappointment in Jesus' late arrival, she made it clear that she still believes in Him despite the disappointment. How many of us can trust God that much?

Beloved, when God is silent, and it seems, with undisputable evidences, that He has 'failed' you; will you still trust in Him, and believe that His glory will be revealed?

At the end of it all, Jesus called Lazarus out of the grave, and Bible says, “The dead man came out, his hands and feet wrapped with strips of linen, and a cloth around his face. Jesus said to them, “Take off the grave clothes and let him go.”” (John11:44)

Jesus had said to them in verse 40, “Did I not tell you that if you believe, you will see the glory of God?” You see, if only we can keep believing, even when it seems God is silent, we will see great manifestations of His glory.

Asides revealing His Glory in a most amazing manner, God's silence in the life of a genuine believer is to help him cross 'THE POINT OF NO RETURN' with God; that point where he has resolved to follow, serve and trust absolutely in God, no matter what happens or fails to happen.

PRAYER

Lord, evermore increase my faith. Help me to keep believing, even when everything I see in the natural compels me to do otherwise. Take me past the point of no return with you, and let me see your Glory in Jesus Name.

Image Credit: singlesavedsecure.com

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page