top of page
Search
  • Rev. Temilolu Aliu

Daily Tonic || In God’s Presence


Text- Psalm 16:11- “You will show me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore”

As you prepare to go to Church today, I want us to quickly explore together how to make the best out of God’s presence.

Psalm 16 relates to us how David found the secret of joy and satisfaction in times of peril. But much more importantly, the Psalm also speaks powerfully of Jesus and His work for us.

When Peter preached his first sermon on the day of Pentecost, after the outpouring of the Spirit, he expressly quoted from Psalm 16: 8-11, showing how David prophetically spoke about Christ.

According to Peter, these verses indicate that Christ being raised from the dead, ascended to heaven, was received up into glory into his Father's presence (where there is fullness of Joy), and is seated at the right hand of majesty (where there are pleasures forever more).

The church is the body of Christ; and as such, these verses may be applied to all Christians. In Acts 2: 25-28, when peter quoted from Psalm 16, he said:

“For David says concerning Him: ‘I foresaw the LORD always before my face, For He is at my right hand, that I may not be shaken. Therefore my heart rejoiced, and my tongue was glad; Moreover my flesh also will rest in hope. For You will not leave my soul in Hades, Nor will You allow Your Holy One to see corruption. You have made known to me the ways of life; You will make me full of joy in Your presence.”

Firstly, David said, “I foresaw the Lord always before me”. This is a statement of awareness. As you go to Church today, go, fully aware that “God is here!” After all, Jesus promised in Matthew 18:20, “And when two or three of you are together because of me, you can be sure that I’ll be there.”

If you are not aware of and sensitive to God’s presence, nothing else matters. It takes awareness and sensitivity to make the best of God’s presence.

Next, David said “My heart rejoiced, and my tongue was glad”. As you approach God’s presence, rejoice. No matter what your current situation is, it does not change your divine position in Christ. More so, God is bigger than every situation and circumstance, and He has a way of turning things around for your good.

Another profound statement made by David is this: “Moreover my flesh also will rest in hope”. You see, Church should be your resting place from all labor, discomforts and burdens. As you go to Church today, rest in hope – drop your anxieties and worries; pick up your faith, trust in God and expect God’s very best for you. Rest assured, God’s got your back and you are not alone.

Again, David said “You have made known to me the ways of life”. This is likened to what Isaiah said about the mountain of the Lord’s house in Isaiah 2:3, “…he will teach us of his ways, and we will walk in his paths”. As you go to Church, prepare your heart to learn the ways of God, and be willing to obediently walk in His paths.

Finally, Peter quotes David saying, “You will make me full of joy in Your presence”… This talks about expectation! What are your expectations as you go to Church today – Joy, peace, healing, breakthrough? Just name it beloved, for surely there is an end; and thine expectation shall not be cut off.

PRAYERS

Lord, as I go to Church today, I receive heightened sensitivity to God’s presence, to the move of the Holy Spirit, and to the flow of the anointing. Lord, grant me the grace to rejoice, and to wholly trust in you as I appear in your presence today in Jesus Name.

Image Credit: life973.com

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page