top of page
Search
  • Rev. Temilolu Aliu

Daily Tonic || Be Like A Little Child (2)


Text- Matthew 18:3- "And said, Truly I say to you, Except you be converted, and become as little children, you shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven.”

I explained yesterday that essentially, Christlikeness is Childlikeness, and also reiterated that Childlikeness is different from childishness, in the same way gentleness is different from stupidity. We then went on to discuss two noteworthy attributes of Children which make them good kingdom models.

As we proceed today, I’ll show you few more attributes of Childlikeness:

3. Trust

Proverbs 3: 5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.

Children generally believe whatever their parents tell them, without posing any arguments. The same way, Childlike trust in God would take God at His Word regardless of all ‘reasoning’. When we become like a little child, we will trust that the Word of God is absolute truth.

Gullibility on the other hand, is childish, and is not the same as trust. The thin between trust and gullibility is that trust relies on evidence of integrity and competence, whereas gullibility relies on absolutely nothing.

4. Forgiveness

Matthew 18:21-22 “Then came Peter to him, and said, Lord, how oft shall my brother sin against me, and I forgive him – till seven times? Jesus saith unto him, I say not unto thee, until seven times: but, until seventy times seven”

Children never hold grudges; they are very quick to forgive! The lord wants us to be as forgiving as little children. Truly, people may not always be fair towards you, and their actions may sometimes not be defensible by any just standard, but ultimately, Jesus desires that you would forgive them.

5. Teachableness

Proverbs 4: 1-4 “Hear, ye children, the instruction of a father, and attend to know understanding… For I was my father's son, tender and only beloved in the sight of my mother. He taught me also, and said unto me, Let thine heart retain my words: keep my commandments, and live.”

Have you ever noticed that it is easier for a young child than an adult to learn a new language? This is evidence to the fact that Children are teachable. In the same vein, Christ desires that we remain teachable.

While Christ desires that we are teachable like little children, he does not want us to be vulnerable to deception, for that would be childish. Ephesians 4:14 – “That we henceforth be no more children, tossed to and fro, and carried about with every wind of doctrine, by the sleight of men, and cunning craftiness, whereby they lie in wait to deceive”

PRAYERS

1. Lord, please grant me the grace to always take you at word; to trust your Word as absolute truth, regardless of all reasoning.

2. Lord, please give me the strength to childlike in forgiveness; to graciously forgive everyone who offends me.

3. Father, I choose to remain teachable. I ask you to fortify my mind and shield me from every wind of false doctrine and deception in Jesus Name.

Image Credit: stewardship.com

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page