top of page
Search
  • Rev. Temilolu Aliu

Daily Tonic || Stand Upon Your Watch


Text - Habakkuk 2:1 – “I will stand upon my watch, and set me upon the tower, and will watch to see what he will say unto me, and what I shall answer when I am reproved.”

For air travellers, the choice of economy-class airline seat is an enduring question. In fact, which seat is better (widow or aisle) has been a consistent source of countless arguments.

One of the reasons why some people prefer window seats is that they have complete control over the window shade. Apart from during take-off and landing (due to safety precautions), it's usually left to the preference of the passenger sitting beside the window whether their shade is open or not.

A lot of people desire to stay close to the window, and have full control of the shade in order to fully maximize the wonder and delight of the vision that an aircraft affords of the world's great mountains ranges, cities by night and the everyday marvels of sunrise and sunset. This is similar to what the prophet referred to as “stand upon my watch, and set me on a tower”

It is definitely not a new thing that people often ascend a high place to secure an extensive view of the earth’s wonders. In the same way, we as Christians must make a decision to stand at a vantage position in our walk with God, in order to see what God wants us to see and how God wants us to see.

The prophet says in our text that when he stands upon his watch, “I will watch to see what he will say unto me, and what I shall answer when I am reproved”

See, God is constantly speaking to us, but unless we stand upon our watch, we will not get the accurate sight required to rightly interpret what God is saying (see what he will say) and to put it to right use (and what I shall answer).

Furthermore, we must rest our hopes in the Lord, looking up to Him who is the author and finisher of our faith, while expecting answers, revelations and solutions from Him.

Not so many believers have fully understood what it means to stand upon their watch, and many that understand it don’t even do it, because it’s not an easy task! When you stand upon your watch, you pray until something happens; you tarry until you get a word; you meditate until the Word comes alive; you patiently endure trials and temptations.

Beloved, are you standing upon your watch?

Jamieson-Fausset-Brown summarizes this by explaining that the "watch-post" is the withdrawal of the whole soul from earthly things, and fixing it on heavenly things. What this suggests is that we are to give ourselves to constant meditation, fasting and prayer, and put ourselves in a waiting posture.

PRAYER I will stand upon my watch, and set me upon a tower. I will set my soul on things heavenly; I will fast, pray, meditate, and wait patiently in order to get the accurate sight required to rightly interpret what God is saying to me per time and put it to right use.

Image Credit: manofmany.com

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page